Jesuit Missions of the Chiquitos (1990)

Back to index

Between 1696 and 1760, six ensembles of reducciones (settlements of Christianized Indians) inspired by the 'ideal cities' of the 16th-century philosophers were founded by the Jesuits in a style that married Catholic architecture with local traditions. The six that remain – San Francisco Javier, Concepción, Santa Ana, San Miguel, San Rafael and San José – make up a living heritage on the former territory of the Chiquitos. 

  • Antigua / Barbuda 1997. Souvenir sheet. 50th anniversary of World Heritage. The first stamp in the second row on the left shows the reducción of the Misión de Chiquitos. 

  • Antigua / Barbuda 1997. Close-up of the stamp. 

Other World Heritage Sites in Bolivia (on this site). Please refer to the UNESCO-listing, Bolivia-section, for further information about the individual properties. 

Back to index

Revised 03 aug 2006  
Copyright © 1999 Heindorffhus
All Rights Reserved