Great Barrier Reef (1981)

Back to index

United Nations (Geneva) 1999. World Cultural Heritage. Great Barrier Reef, Australia.

The Great Barrier Reef is a site of remarkable variety and beauty on the north-east coast of Australia. 

It contains the world's largest collection of coral reefs, with 400 types of coral, 1,500 species of fish and 4,000 types of mollusc. 

It also holds great scientific interest as the habitat of species such as the dugong ('sea cow') and the large green turtle, which are threatened with extinction.

  • United Nations (Geneva) 1999.  The stamp shown is from a booklet, and has a face value of FS 0,10.  

A similar stamp with the face value of FS 1,10 has also been issued by Geneva, and yet another similar stamp with the face value of S 1,00 by United Nations Vienna 1999. 

Sources and links: 

Other World Heritage Sites in Australia (on this site). Inactive links are not described on stamps. Please refer to the UNESCO-listing, Australia-section, for further information about such sites. 

Back to index

Revised 01 jul 2007  
Copyright 1999 Heindorfhus 
All Rights Reserved