Jesuit Block and Estancias of Córdoba (2000)

Back to index

The Jesuit Block in Córdoba, heart of the former Jesuit Province of Paraguay, contains the core buildings of the Jesuit system: the university, the church and residence of the Society of Jesus, and the college. Along with the five estancias, or farming estates, they contain religious and secular buildings, which illustrate the unique religious, social, and economic experiment carried out in the world for a period of over 150 years in the 17th and 18th centuries. 

Argentina 2001. Designation of Córdoba as UNESCO World Heritage. Argentina 1961. Cathedral of Córdoba. Semi-postal stamp. Scott # B35.

The Vatican 1946. St. Ignatius Loyola (1491-1556). Founder of the Society of Jesus.

Jesuits, or Society of Jesus, is a religious order of men in the Roman Catholic church, founded by Saint Ignatius of Loyola in 1534 and confirmed by Pope Paul III in 1540. The motto of the order is Ad majorem Dei gloriam (Latin for “to the greater glory of God”), and its object is the spread of the church by preaching and teaching or the fulfillment of whatever else is judged the most urgent need of the church at the time. 

Education has been its chief activity almost from the outset, and it has made notable contributions to scholarship in both theology and the secular disciplines. 

  • The Vatican 1946. St. Ignatius Loyola (1491-1556). Founder of the Society of Jesus. 

Sources and links:

Other World Heritage Sites in Argentina (on this website). Eventually refer to the UNESCO-listing, Argentina-Section, for further information on the individual properties.

Back to index

Revised 03 aug 2006  
Copyright © 1999 Heindorfhus
All Rights Reserved