The Danish West Indies


This Page            Next Page

In 1856 the Danish West Indies, St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas, in the Caribbean Sea, had their own postal administration directed from Denmark.  The islands' first "national" stamp in their own name was issued on 1st April 1856, valid for postage only within the islands themselves.  As of 1871 the stamps became also valid for postage to Denmark.  

On 1st September 1877 the islands were admitted as a member of the Universal Postal Union, and all stamps became valid according to international postal regulations. 

Following a referendum in Denmark The Danish West Indies were ceded to the United States in 1917 for the sum of 25 million US-dollars, and the ceding was valid as of 31st March 1917.  Since then the islands have used US-stamps.   For postal purposes, the West Indian islands are considered part of the US Virgin Islands (state code = VI).  

During the period 1907-1916 the islands issued their own Christmas Seals following the same criteria as the mother country, Denmark.  All seals are shown on this page. Click on any of the images to see a large version, which will open in a new window.  

This Page            Next Page

Published 1999. Revised  08 okt 2004 
Copyright by Ann Mette Heindorff
All Rights Reserved

Homepage Danish Christmas Seals

Homepage Heindorffhus